McHenry, Illinois, Workers’ Compensation
If you have suffered a work-related injury, you may be entitled to compensation from your employer through workers’ compensation, even if the employer was not at fault.
My firm, the Law Office of Scott W. Brammer is dedicated to representing victims of workplace accidents and getting the compensation they deserve for their injuries, medical bills and lost wages. Workers’ compensation cases are handled on a contingency basis, which means there is no fee unless you win your case. Below, I offer answers to some common questions about workers’ compensation; reach out to my firm for more information.
What is workers’ compensation?
Workers’ compensation, also known as workers’ comp, is a type of insurance coverage for employees who are injured while on the job or in the performance of their job duties. All employers, regardless of size or number of employees, are required to provide workers’ comp for their employees. Even employers who have one employee must provide workers’ comp. In Illinois, nearly 91% of Illinois employees are covered under workers’ comp.
How do I know if my employer provides workers’ compensation?
Employers in Illinois are required to post a workers’ comp notice in a prominent place in the workplace that provides, among other information, the name and contact information of the party or business that handles worker’s compensation claims. You can view this notice online at http://www.iwcc.il.gov/icpn.pdf.
Are there exceptions to workers’ compensation?
There are some circumstances in which an employee may not be eligible for workers’ comp, or may have their claim denied. But generally speaking, if your injury happens while performing job-related duties, you are eligible for worker’s comp benefits. If your employer or your employer’s insurance company denies your claim, you should consult an experienced workers’ comp attorney to review your case.
When should I report my job injury?
For most injuries, you should report your job injury to your employer within 45 days after the accident. For radiological exposure, you should notify your employer within 90 days of a suspected or confirmed exposure. For occupational diseases, you must notify the employer as soon as you become aware that you have the disease.
What if my employer refuses to pay for workers’ comp benefits?
Injured workers should contact their employer directly to find out why they are not receiving benefits. Employees who can’t get benefits from their employer should contact the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission.
Can I be fired for reporting an accident or filing a claim?
No, it is illegal for an employer to fire an employee for reporting an accident or filing for workers’ compensation benefits. Any type of retaliation, discrimination or harassment on behalf of the employer is also prohibited.
How can an attorney help my workers’ comp case?
If you have been injured at work, it’s in your best interest to get legal representation as soon as possible. In order to ensure that your claim is not denied by the insurance company, and to get the best treatment possible with the doctor of your choice, retaining experienced legal counsel should be your first step.
I have many years of experience as a workers’ comp advocate for individuals who have been injured at work. I will advise you on how to document the circumstances of your injury and any medical treatment received, help you through the worker’s comp filing process, and help you to receive a fair and just settlement.
Contact the Law Office of Scott W. Brammer today at 815-324-7467 for a free initial consultation.